Skyline in some rain/wind?

General Palm Springs area.

Skyline in some rain/wind?

Postby skygazer242 » Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:07 am

Hi all,
We are planning to hike Skyline this Saturday the 26th (to tram only). I'm thrilled the forecast calls for very cool weather...but now the forecast says wind and chance of rain. Now, I hike a lot and am not afraid of a little wind/rain, but I've never done this trail before. If by chance, it downpours and gets gusty are there sections that will be difficult to navigate? Severe weather looks very unlikely this weekend, I just like to know these things going in. I research the hell out of everything :lol:
Thanks!
skygazer242

windy = no tram?

Postby skygazer242 » Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:23 am

I just realized if it's windy enough they'll won't run the tram, right? And Idyllwild is calling for snow. I'd love some feedback from the Skyline regulars! I really want to do this hike but if the tram was closed when we got there, wow, that would be less than awesome...
skygazer242

Rain/Snow Likely

Postby NickersonHikes » Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:34 am

I also have a group thinking about hiking up Skyline on Saturday (3/26) who haven't done it before. This is according to the local meteorologist:

"Rain changes in the mountains are mostly overnight Friday into early Saturday. If you go before 10am Saturday, you could run into some sprinkles/light snow depending on your elevation. Snow levels will likely drop to 5000 feet early Saturday, with a few inches possible. You'll likely deal with gusty winds either way, so it'll be feeling pretty chilly Saturday in the higher elevations." - Meteorologist Rob Bradley